image M Abdur Rahim Medical College, Dinajpur
A Government Medical Institute

New Town, Dinajpur, Bangladesh, Tel: +88053164787, Fax: +88053163820,
Request for update to web editor by email:


Professor Dr. Md. Kamrul Ahsan
MBBS, MS (Orthopaedics)

Vice Principal

Professor Dr. Kanta Roy Rimi
MBBS, BCS (Health), M Phil (Anatomy)

M Abdur Rahim Medical College is a government medical college in Bangladesh, established in 1992 as Dinajpur Medical College. It is located in the Dinajpur district of the Rangpur division and associated with Rajshahi University.

It offers a five-year medical education course leading to MBBS. One-year internship after graduation is compulsory for all graduates. The degree is recognised by the Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council. Graduates of this medical college are eligible for USMLE, PLAB examination and the degree is recognized by WHO. M Abdur Rahim Medical College is listed in IMED


M Abdur Rahim Medical College admits 150 students into the MBBS degree programme yearly under the government medical admission test. M Abdur Rahim Medical College is under DGHS and curriculum by BMDC(Bangladesh medical and dental council). Like other government medical colleges, to be admitted into M Abdur Rahim Medical College need to be follow DGHS rules. The admission test is conducted centrally by Director of Medical Education under DGHS (nearly 65,000 applicants sat for the medical college entrance examination in Bangladesh). For foreign students, admission is through the Embassy of Bangladesh in respective countries. Many students from Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan are Studying here. Up to January 2016 20 batches have passed from this medical college successfully.

History of DjMC

In the year 1978-79 Bangladesh government planned to establish medical colleges at Bogra, Comilla, Dinajpur, Faridpur, Kushtia, Khulna, Noakhali and Pabna with a view to improve the healthcare services in the country. Keeping this view in mind in the year 1980-81 medical colleges were started functioning at Comilla, Khulna, Pabna and IPGMR (Dhaka). Subsequently the programme was abandoned and the students were shifted to the established existing eight medical colleges. In the year 1991-92 the government felt the need of establishment more medical colleges for medical education facilities in the country and thereby release the burden imposed on the existing medical colleges. Accordingly the government made commitment to establish 5 new medical colleges at Dinajpur, Bogra, Khulna, Faridpur and Comilla. Thus 5 medical colleges had been established in 1990-91 year with annual intake of 50 students each medical college. On 16 August 1992 Dinajpur Medical Colleges started functioning at Dinajpur main town occupying a hostel of general government college and a rented private building named 'Hamana Bhaban'. It was shifted to new building proper at Ananda Sagor area near Dinajpur main town on 1 July 2000. Dinajpur Sadar hospital was used as temporary medical college hospital. Medical college was started functioning in building proper in college campus on 7 March 2010. Now M Abdur Rahim Medical College and Hospital have excellent campus with annual intake of approximately 150 students.


The Principal is Professor Dr. Md. Kamrul Ahsan

Vice Principal

The Vice Principal is Professor Dr. Kanta Roy Rimi